28.

I tend to live in my own little dream world most of the time, most anyone who knows me knows this is true.  I’m constantly clambering against some perceived injustice that most others take in stride, I make rash and life-altering decisions at the drop of a dime.  I’m crazy and ridiculous, and not usually in a good way.  The result is that I usually make myself crazy, and stress over things in an obsessive, totally neurotic fashion.  Again, most anyone who knows me knows this is true, because I talk about things with people over, and over, and over again, ad nauseum (even to myself).  But we can only see the world through our own set of eyes, and if we make our own reality (which I believe 100% we do), then we kind of know what we’re going to see on a day-to-day basis, generally speaking, right?

So, recently I started studying A Course in Miracles, which is a mystical spiritual teaching.  I don’t know what it is, but this stuff just makes sense to me, in a deep and very profound way.  It strikes something beyond my consciousness, something deep, sort of within my core.  Can’t really be explained, but I’d highly recommend having a look.  If you can get past some of the language (it’s written using Christian terminology, which was hard for me to overlook at first; now it’s something of an advantage, as I was raised Catholic, and am pretty well versed in the Christian doctrine), it has the potential to completely alter the way you look at the world, especially if you have any desire to find a deeper truth.  For me, spirituality has always been of interest and concern; I’ve always believed, I just wasn’t always sure in what, a lifelong agnostic, I guess.  I’ve maintained a daily meditation/ contemplation/ chanting/ prayer practice for more than 5 years (though prior to that time, my practice was somewhat sporadic), constantly looking for ways to get beyond myself, beyond the petty and small bit of myself that takes everything over, when given the chance or ignored for too long.

I digress: I’m getting tired and my mind wanders.  In any given city, you can find groups that meet to discuss the Course.  Today I went to my first meeting.  It was interesting, and a few times I felt so small and naive in a room of people who had all dealt with addiction, and who had been studying the Course for so long.  At one point, we were talking about how everything is created in our minds, for our minds, and this is the part that felt so surreal, something just shifted, my vision changed, and suddenly it was like I was seeing the world through a different lens.  And I looked around at each individual, and realized that they were all sort of archetypes, and that truly, it was like my mind was putting on a show, one I had already created in my head.  I had to stop thinking about it; it was profound, but a little more than I was prepared to handle of a Sunday morn!

Which brings me to the SOD.  What could be more surreal and archetypal than a Disney teen star?  Miley Cyrus, “Party in the USA.”

Miley Cyrus / Party in the USA

Leave a Reply

