FOOD! Sesame Ginger Salmon Burgers

I don’t know about you, but when I was a kid, nothing sounded (or smelled) worse to me than salmon burgers.  I remember my Gram used to make them sometimes for family dinners, when the smell would overtake you at the front door.  Somewhere along the line, I started to like salmon and now the thought of Gram’s burgers make me very, very hungry.  I’m pretty sure they’re made with some manner of bread-fixative, so this recipe is an excellent substitute:

Sesame GingerSalmon Burgers1 lb salmon filet with skin removed
1 tablespoon grated ginger
1 egg yolk (I’ve also used the whole egg)
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
vegetable or peanut oil for cooking

Finely chop salmon by hand or in food processor, transfer to mixing bowl with ginger root. Whisk egg yolk in small bowl. Whisk in mustard, soy sauce, and sesame oil. Add to salmon and combine well. Gently form into four patties. Heat vegetable or peanut oil in large nonstick skillet over high heat. Carefully slide patties into pan with spatula. Reduce heat to medium-high, and fry until golden all over (about 4 mins. per side). Serve hot.

Can be served on country bread with mix of mustard and mayo and topped with watercress.

I think this came from the food section of the newspaper one day, and I don’t know what kind of crack this person was smoking when they suggest chopping salmon by hand, but it doesn’t work.  I should actually just delete that part of the sentence, but the idea of it it is just so dang silly that I want to leave it in!

Leave a Reply

