28.

I love how when you start to pay attention to something, that thing shows up all over the place in your daily life.  Music, in this case.  I’ve been far more interested in audiobooks and spoken word stuff for the past several years to pay much attention to music, but now I’m finding new stuff all over the place that is interesting, and new and sort of obscure.

This one, to me, is highly interesting.  I was listening to a local station over the interwebs at work and heard that the vid to this song was filmed underwater, and you know I was sold at that instant.  I came home and looked it up and this is what I found.  Awesomeness.
Warpaint / Warpaint

I think the best part about it was in the writeup on the NPR site:

We’ve always had the idea to do a video underwater, and were excited when our friend Ted Newsome sent us a treatment, which involved just that. It was an opportunity to create a fantastical world where oxygen, time and style were simply not an issue. Turned out to be far more challenging than we had initially expected, but we pulled through. We’re excited about it and hope you enjoy.

I love this line, “It was an opportunity to create a fantastical world where oxygen, time and style were simply not an issue.”  Love it because it’s true.  Ok, maybe not the oxygen part, but being underwater is the closest us gravity-requiring souls will ever come to floating.  It can be like soaring through the air when drift diving, or finding just the right position to manipulate the water current so that you can stay in the same place, kind of like watching a pelican hanging in an air current at the top of a cliff.  Time does matter, but not as much, and it passes differently.

Anywho, I love the video and also the song.

Leave a Reply

