15.

It would appear that I have started yet another novel.  NaNoWriMo is just around the corner, and now that summer is fini and life has slowed considerably, I have much more time to spend at home, doing the home-bodyish things I do so enjoy.  I would say that this novel is a slice of my own story, that one summer I go back to, that one epic summer…  We all have that one epic summer, don’t we.  The one that creeps up on us, that isn’t fully understood until many, many years later.  It shapes us in ways we don’t understand, bits and pieces of it stick with us more deeply than we know.

I started writing last night, though the idea has been with me for a while.  It’s this idea of the Hero’s Journey, an idea popularized by Joseph Campbell, but it’s connected to so many other things.  At the end of the day, it’s the human experience, and we all have that Hero’s Journey in our past somewhere.  It’s like how a cliche is a cliche because there’s truth behind it; the Hero’s Journey resonates because we all experience it in our lives.

Neil Young & Crazy Horse / Big Time

Leave a Reply

