winter mania!

I’m not sure if it’s because I sit at a desk all day long, or because I don’t get enough sunshine in the winter, or if it’s just because I go a little stir crazy, what with the routine of the work week, but I get a little crazy this time of year!  I mean, now that it’s finally winter, that is.  I would happily spend all of my free minutes outside doing stuff, if I could.

Here’s what my tonight looked like: I rushed home from work to investigate what the dog might have demolished during the day (she was merely cuddling with one of my running shoes, bless her).  My plan was to let her out, then to go for a run because I was miraculously home before daylight had disappeared.  Unfortunately she spied the gentle leader in my hand while she was still outside and refused to enter the house, not even for treats.  Eventually she came in (and if you have a dog, or kids, you know the feeling of wanting to accomplishing something time-specific, and battling with said dependent, all the while mentally hearing the time ticking away…), but I still couldn’t get her on the leash, and so ran the lake alone.  When I came home, she was ready to go, so we skijored for a bit.  She did much better tonight, slowly starting to understand what we’re doing out there.  I was also less ambitious distance-wise, and only ran around Isles, rather than aiming to do more.  When we were done with that, I took the dog home and skied the lake alone.  All in all, I probably covered 6-7 miles.  And I would happily head out on my skates, if I didn’t have to go to bed for the working in the morning.

Leave a Reply

