goals: fear-seeking missiles!

Why is it that the goals you deem the scariest, are the ones that you most often have the opportunity to endeavor?  Last year I set the intention to run my first half-marathon; I ran 2.  This year, I have merely been considering the possibility of running my first marathon.  Just slightly thinking about it, a little!  I haven’t even set my goals for the year down on paper… yet BOOM!!!!!!!  Today, after a friend queried my interest, I signed up for Grandma’s Marathon on 16 June 2012.  That’s just over 19 weeks to train (I think).  Yikes.Disclaimer: I know I’ll do fine, and I’m not looking for validation (though encouragement is welcome, as are your success and/or horror stories!).  Just a bit gun-shy thinking about those Saturday-morning 20-milers come May…

2 thoughts on “goals: fear-seeking missiles!

  1. I’m planning on signing up for Grandma’s soon! It’ll be my eighth marathon, but my first Minnesota race, so I’m really excited to be a part of it. Good luck in your training. You only get one first marathon and believe me, it is worth the effort.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I am excited! Also, Grandma’s is a BEAUTIFUL course. I am a big MN fan, love the Twin Cities, but Duluth/Lake Superior-North Shore is a solid second best. Good luck with your training, though it sounds like you have a pretty good handle on it. Have you ever read “Born to Run”? Good motivator 😉

Leave a Reply

