confessions of know-it-all’ingness.

Thought of the day: it’s not that the customer/client is always right, but rather that I don’t always need to be right. Right?

I have a tendency toward know-it-all’ingness.  It’s not pretty.  I think there’s a gene in the family, probably on both sides, where we must be right, and we must know that you know that we are right.  I’ve also been known, not willing to recognize the fault in myself, to scrutinize others for the same flaw.  But, as with anything, knowing is half the battle.

I had a moment working with a client today where I held my tongue, made the requested edits, and moved on to the next task.  Now, you can understand this was difficult, as the issue at hand was whether autumnal allergies could be caused by pollen, because isn’t pollen more a springtime thing?  I looked it up, of course, and thought about tossing in an off-handed remark about knowing that, in fact, allergies at this time of year could indeed be pollen-related, because I, personally, suffer this particular malady, at this time, every year.

You can just hear the peevishness in my tone, can’t you.  It’s there, and repeating it here makes it that much more obvious.  And annoying.  And petty-sounding.  I mean, really.  Why is it so important to expend energy thinking about setting him straight?  And did I need to verify the facts on WebMD.com (and yes, this is the link to the Fall Allergies info page)?  Or consider sending a link just so they would know I was right, or that this type of allergy was valid?  A-nnoy-ing.  Do you ever have moments when you wonder how the people around you even like you sometimes?  I’m such a pain in the ass sometimes!

Leave a Reply

